Get it Right Get it Tight

A Fail-Proof Treadmill Workout

As much as I love to run outside, some days that’s just not feasible.  It’s been raining here in Dallas for over 24 hours straight, so me and my running shoes are about to hang out with one of the most dreaded machines in the gym – the treadmill.

I don’t want to sound like a treadmill hater.  I actually really count on the treadmill as a tool for improving my mileage pace.  BUT, when I’m on a treadmill, I often get bored and antsy within the first couple minutes.  Usually I try to give myself small challenges (e.g. lap time goals, running to the beat, incline intervals, etc.)  to keep me focused on something other than the fact that no matter how far I run, I’ll be staring at the same wall the entire time….

Lately I’ve found myself relying on a pyramid style run to get through the monotony of the machine. I love it because:

  1. It’s 30 minutes flat. Done and done.
  2. It can be adjusted for any type of fitness level.
  3. It’s challenging, but very doable because of the short intervals.

Each version follows the same pyramid pattern:
Pyramid

Here are 4 varieties of the Pyramid Run, so choose the one that works best for you.

Level 1Level 2Level 3Level 4

*Note – you know what works best for your body, so if you don’t love any of my versions, make it personalized for yourself.

I’m also a HUGE fan of the Rock My Run app.  It lets you choose from tons of genres and provides seamless music mixes to keep your energy high.
Oh, and ps…it’s free!

 

4 thoughts on “A Fail-Proof Treadmill Workout

  1. I’d been looking for ways to break up my monotonous cardio routines of using the bike and/or elliptical. Once I found a speed that worked for me, this workout was great! The 30 minutes almost flew by. Can’t way to give this another go. Thanks Carly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

