Entrees

Spicy Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

burger cover
I’m not one to brag on my friends…(okay maybe just a little)…but I have a pretty legit posse.  A couple of months ago some of my girls made me a cookbook filled with a compilation of their favorite healthy recipes.   One of my fellow future dietitian friends contributed a not-so-spicy version of the recipe below.  She actually cooked these burgers for me earlier this year and I couldn’t get enough of them, so I was super pumped to snag this recipe.

warning: These are not “pretty” patties.  The pictures you’re about to see are not for the faint of heart.  I highly recommend that anyone you plan on feeding these burgers to does not see the making of the burgers until they are complete.  Thank you.

burger 1
Start by cooking your quinoa.  I use broth versus water because quinoa takes on the flavor of what it’s cooked with, so I’ve found that it tastes better that way.  If you prefer water, by all means, go for it.

burgers 2
The words “chopping onion” really don’t resonate well with me. That’s what food processors are for.  I have a few skills.  Chopping onions isn’t one of them.

burgers 4{old school “boy rules” included for your reading pleasure}

burgers 3
Saute veggies, then add in black beans and simmer.  You may need to add a little water – I added about 1/2 cup.  Next, it’s back to the food processor along with half of the quinoa.  Once everything is nice and smooth, add in the remaining beans and quinoa, mix it up, and you get the delightfully brown bean mush seen below.

burgers 6{if this doesn’t scream “dibs on licking the bowl,” I don’t know what does…}

I pinky promise that these taste much better than they look, and you’re only one step away from never having to look at this raw patty again.  Just put on your big boy pants, form some patties, and get them in the oven QUICK.

burger 7{flipping these is harder than you may imagine – treat them gently, as if you were flipping your 98 year old grandmother}

Now all that’s left is arranging them into the magical burger of your dreams.  I chose a Hawaiian Sweet Bun because 1) they rock my world, and 2) I had some in the pantry that I needed to use up.  Enjoy!

burgers 5

Ingredients:
1/2 cup dry quinoa
3/4 cups low sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 small onion, finely chopped (about 1 cup)
1 cup chopped mushrooms (I used crimini)
1 large jalapeno chopped
1/4 cup oil-packed sun dried tomatoes, drained and chopped
15oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tsp steak seasoning (or any fun seasonings that sound delicious)
2 tsp chipotle seasoning
salt to season
8 hamburger buns, or lettuce wraps, or anything you want to sandwich around this magical patty

Instructions:
1. Stir together quinoa and broth in small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer about 20 minutes (until liquid is absorbed).  Season with salt.

2. While quinoa is cooking, place onion, mushrooms, jalapeno, and sun dried tomatoes in a medium nonstick skillet and cook over medium heat for 3 minutes, until onion has softened. Stir in half of the black beans, garlic, steak and chipotle seasonings and about 1/2 cup water.  Simmer 10 minutes or until the liquid has evaporated.

3. Transfer the onion and bean mixture to a food processor and add 1/2 of your cooked quinoa.  Process until smooth.  Transfer to bowl and stir in remaining beans and quinoa.  Season with salt, pepper, and more chipotle seasoning if desired.

4. Preheat over to 350 degrees F, and generously coat baking sheet with cooking spray.  Once the mixture has cooled, shape into 8 patties and place on baking sheet.  Back for 20 minutes, or until patties are crisp.  Then, flip patties and bake 10 more minutes or until both sides are crisp and brown.  Serve on buns, or however you prefer.

note: While some like it hot, some do not – reduce the heat by eliminating the jalapeno and chipotle seasoning

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spicy Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

  1. These sound delicious and I plan on making them this week. I normally cook my quinoa with a 2 to 1 ratio (2 parts liquid to 1 part quinoa). Your recipe calls for 3/4 cup liquid and 1/2 cup quinoa. Is this so that the cooked quinoa is drier?

    Like

Leave a Reply

