Random Thoughts

Celebrate Change

This weekend I (FINALLY) completed my Masters of Clinical Nutrition degree.  Yipee!!! After a weekend of celebrations with family and friends, feelings of relief and accomplishment, and coming to terms with a few underlying fears (e.g. WhereTheHeckAmIGoingToWork?) I started reminiscing on the differences between the person I was before I started this journey over two years ago, and the person I’ve become.

Sure, I still enjoy a good hotdog now and then, my addiction to updating my bedding has (if possible) gotten even more intense than before, and I feel extremely lucky that the same girls that I called as soon as I got accepted into grad school in 2012 are the ones I celebrated with this weekend (plus a couple new bonus friends)!

Other things, however, have changed…

BREAKFAST

Breakfast of champions

Breakfast of champions

If you asked me a few years ago what I wanted for breakfast, the answer was ALWAYS – bagels and cream cheese.  Today, 9 times out of 10, the food I want to start my day out with is Greek yogurt and blueberries.  Not only does this breakfast provide a tad more nutrition than the prior, but I feel like I could go for a run after eating versus hopping on the couch for a post-breakfast nap.

HOBBIES

Yoga in the park

Yoga in the park

My favorite weekend hobby of all time used to be…wait for it…brunch!  For those of you who think brunch is a meal and not a hobby, you are just not brunching properly.  Brunch for me was a combination of rallying friends, picking a hotspot with a great atmosphere AND cheap mimosas, and spending my afternoon soaking in every wonder brunch had to offer.

Nowadays I prefer a quick trip to the coffee shop, a morning yoga class, and an afternoon paddle boarding.  Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy a brunch every once in a while, but I’ve found that I feel like a whole new person when I start my week with a little exercise and some time outdoors.

SKIN CARE

products

So fresh and so clean

Products for me used to consist of makeup and perfume. Period.  It was always a matter of improving (aka covering up) what I had going on.  Today my bathroom is filled with products like Nude skin serum, organic soaps, and face moisturizers with SPF.  The older I get, the more thankful (and protective of) I am for the skin and body I have.

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”
-Socrates

Leave a Reply

