This vs. That

Coffee vs. Juice

photo (1) It’s a rainy morning here in Dallas and normally I would roll out of bed, walk across the street to Starbucks, and grab a coffee to get my day started, but today I decided to try something new.  I recently watched the documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” by Joe Cross and it inspired me to try out this juicing craze that people seem to be so into these days.  Since I wasn’t ready to commit to purchasing a (very expensive) juicer yet, I used one my grandma gave me…from the 50’s by the look of it.
photo (3)This is the legit instruction manual…

So I followed the Mean Green recipe from good old Joe Cross and gave that vintage juicer a run for it’s money.
photo (2)There was QUITE the struggle and I imagine many of my neighbors have filed noise complaints. I gave up after about 3/4 of the ingredients made it through and am now enjoying my semi Mean Green juice instead of coffee.  Bottoms up!
photoDo you have any good juicing tips or recipes?  I could use all the help I can get.

 

One thought on “Coffee vs. Juice

  1. I just started juicing in the morning and I really enjoy it. A more powerful juicer will eliminate the noise citations and make quick work of 3 times the amount of ingredients you were juicing in under a minute. This is the one I bought: Breville Elite Juice Fountain 800 JEXL http://www.amazon.com/Breville-800JEXL-Fountain-1000-Watt-Extractor/dp/B0002VAFVG

    but you can get just a good results with this Breville model for half the price: Breville JE98XL Juice Fountain Plus. Power is great, clean up is easy and the juice is amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

